Dating!

Say adios to the days when everyone was getting married by 18 and welcome the new era of swipes.

Along with not having  good paying jobs and a decent economy, millennials are also not getting married. The dating game has changed and it is making dating more accessible to everyone. Some may say that the accessibility is a bad thing because it’s now overcrowded but others may disagree.

Along with social media apps like Instagram or Facebook, dating apps are not a fad and are here to stay. Dating applications are an escape from the regular dating scene that allows its users to always have a good first impression. It allows them to weed out the people they don’t find attractive in hopes to either meet someone for a quick date or a happily ever after.

(For privacy: The name and locations were changed)

Meet Olivia!

She’s a 26 year old New Yorker who at the moment is on two very popular dating apps. Her most used app’s are Tinder and Plenty of Fish.

How has using dating apps changed your life?

  • In general or in my love life?

Both!

  • In general, it keeps my life interesting. Waiting on a message, or hoping for a connection. I go out and socialize a lot more than I would normally. In my love life, it allows me to connect with single people that I wouldn’t normally meet. And it’s boosted my self-esteem and self-confidence.

So do you think it’s making the dating scene easier or harder?

  • Easier for me, but I hear it’s harder more on males.

Do you have any funny stories or using the app?

  • Plenty of those. I had someone try to bring their sister on a date with me once.

What did you tell him?

  • I basically stopped responding.

You mentioned that it boosted your self-confidence. Do you ever feel pressured to look a certain way since everyone on social media kind of looks the same (Kardashian lips, make up etc.)?

  • Well, I take the best possible picture of me and post that one. I do feel pressured though. I wear makeup and have my hair done in mostly all my photos, but I have one without any makeup as well.

o-awkward-date-facebook

Last question, do you see yourself using the app for a long run or deleting it any time soon?

  • For now, I do see myself using it in the long run, especially since I’m just dating right now and not looking for anything serious. Both of my recent exes were found online though. When I find someone serious and long term is when I’ll delete it.

I’ve said before and I’ll say it again, our phones are changing our daily routines. In closing the dating scene has changed and we as a population must learn to adapt whether we like it or not.

Leave a comment